Posted by: Pradeep | November 4, 2013

Consumer service in Dubai

It is long time I was absent from this location, blame it on my lethargy to give voice to issues. Long time have been thinking on consumer service in Dubai.

Dubai is paradise for shoppers to grab the best of deals around and particularly during DSS, DSF, GITEX etc. I did purchase a Canon 600D last year during GITEX and got a Touchmate 7″ Tablet bundled with it. The deal was from one of the prominent electronics retailer. Immediately after purchase, I noticed issues viz.

1. Even when Canon was giving 2yrs warranty during GITEX, the retailer didn’t…wow!

2. Tablet given was obsolete or defective model probably, every time it was started the date would reset automatically to 1/1/1900 causing it to make my home wi-fi crash…what a performance!

Repeatedly I had to make 3 visits and substantial amount of follow-up to get tablet replaced. The new piece given as replacement comes with another issue, needs 5-7 minutes for power up after charging…I gave up here!

On Canon warranty, the retailer first forced me visit Canon authorized distributor, who turned me away back to retailer. Finally I had to tell retailer that if they don’t make it right, I would return the purchase…they handed me over the 2nd year warranty paper from Canon. What must have happened with visitors who purchased same package during GITEX and left to their home countries?

Two weeks back, I had to take up defect issue with another retailer for a leading Swiss watch brand. The watch fell from hand (a drop of about 4ft) and the case break into pieces (the strap, the glass didn’t fail). It is my fault I didn’t expect that watch case can be much weaker than the glass on case dial! The retailer salesgirl was harsh in talking as if she was doing obligation on me by listening to me for probably a substandard quality served. She had the audacity to say that I should have purchased Rolex if I wanted to highlight such issue…wow at least she accepted that Rolex rules the world with customer care! After lots of pursuing came the solution, “buy another watch from us now and we shall replace the defective piece”. If there was no substandard quality then why replacement proposal at all!

I did buy a new one though I had no immediate need of it, just to get a substandard quality piece replaced probably with another similar one. They committed to give replacement latest by 3rd November. I did follow-up again on 3rd noon only to hear from the same salesgirl with huge attitude “we are still to decide on equivalent replacement, shall let you know by evening”. Today is 5th November and I am waiting for her evening of 3rd November to come!

Another “I don’t care” approach case from one major education provider (read retailer) is favoring a particular credit/debit card issuing bank against all other banks and impose additional processing fees overnight, though DED says it is illegal. Where to go? This was a major news item in leading dailies here and I look forward to appropriate suo motu action by concerned authorities.

The list is being updated with one more case (12-11-13) now. I have been struggling with Samsung to resolve the warranty on my S3. I was directed by them to their service franchise here. A visit to “care” center cost me 62 odd minutes apart from travel time. Out of this almost 57 minutes was waiting time in queue to reach the service agents counter itself. While I had diagnosed the problem to be charger, the service center person insisted me to leave the handset with them for investigation and here comes the bomb…it would take up to 2days for them to revert to me with possible cause for extremely high amount of time for charging. So I leave the handset with all critical data with them and be without phone for 2days at least! The service center refused to accept that the problem diagnosis done by me was correct, probably they are right, how can I make right diagnosis when in first place I failed to select right manufacturer who provides quality service! I left without availing the service.

Leave a Reply

Categories

